The International Registration Plan (IRP) is an agreement between the United States and Canada that allows truckers to operate across two or more jurisdictions.  Under the IRP, motor vehicle carriers are required to pay apportioned fees (taxes) based on the miles traveled in each jurisdiction. However, the fees vary from state to state, so let’s take a look a the Colorado IRP requirements.  

Colorado IRP Registration

After registering as a motor vehicle carrier with USDOT, you’ll need to obtain an authorization from the FMCSA to haul across state lines.  Also, you must register with the IFTA for reporting quarterly fuel use taxes.

Here’s how to get apportioned plates. Several IRP registration forms are required, such as:

  • Schedule A/E and Schedule B – for new accounts
  • Schedule C – to make changes to an existing account
  • Schedule F – for adding jurisdictions to your route

These forms can be obtained by contacting your base jurisdiction, local IRP office, or at the DMV.  Your base jurisdiction is the state where your vehicle is registered.

In Colorado, an eligible apportionable vehicle is one that is used, or intended for use, in two or more member jurisdictions. Other vehicle requirements include:

  • The power unit has two axles and a GVW that exceeds 26,000 pounds, or
  • The power unit has three or more axles regardless of weight, or
  • Is used in combination with GVW exceeding 26,000 pounds.

Some vehicles are exempt such as farm vehicles, commercial vehicles, recreational vehicles, and government-owned or leased vehicles.  

Renewing Your Colorado IRP Plate

In Colorado, the license plate is issued by the base jurisdiction. This is your base plate and is the only registration ID plate issued by a member jurisdiction.  You must meet the following requirements to register a vehicle in Colorado:

  1. Must accrue mileage in the state of Colorado.
  2. All operational records are maintained in the base state.
  3. A registered physical address in Colorado is required.
  4. Proof of an established place of business or residence at the address, with a listed phone number, and names of persons doing business at the location.

Per IRP, you must meet all of the above before registering for a base plate in this state. Also, your plate must be renewed yearly. About three months before the IRP renewal date, you’ll receive a renewal notice that includes all the information you’ll need.  IRP allows a grace period for renewal which ends 30 days after the due date. This grace period allows time for you to renew, make payment, and pick up the new credentials without any delays or fines.

Once you’ve received the IRP plate and IFTA decals, you should be ready to get behind the wheel and grow your business.  But, like many professional drivers, the massive amounts of paperwork involved can use up a lot of your valuable time. The good news is, it doesn’t have to be such a time-consuming task.  Here’s how TruckingOffice can help.

How TruckingOffice Can Make Your Job Easier

Like most motor carriers, all the paperwork makes you feel like an accountant rather than a driver. But, with our TruckingOffice program, you will enjoy the freedom of the road just as you imagined it would be.  We take all the stress out of IRP and IFTA reporting and make sure you never miss a deadline. Our software also tracks your mileage, vehicle maintenance, invoicing, dispatches, and more.

We invite you to take advantage of our 30-day free trial and find out how our software will help you save time and money.  Contact us at TruckingOffice today to learn more about IRP Colorado.  Also, we’ll’ be happy to answer any questions you may have about our program.