North Dakota IFTA Information

North Dakota also referred to as “Heaven” is located alongside the Canadian border and currently has a population of about 700,000 people. North Dakota requires that you submit an IFTA License Application to the Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division. For the initial application there is a $20 fee along with a $5 license fee and an additional $1 for your decals. Any extra decals are $3.


State Requirements IFTA North Dakota Licensing


North Dakota is one of 48 U.S. states that have joined the International Fuel Tax Agreement.  As a trucker in this state, you’ll need to know how this agreement applies to you and your business.  First of all, congratulations on working hard to get your CDL and joining the nationwide team of professional drivers!  Before you get started, you may need to obtain an IFTA North Dakota license.  Here’s what you need to know:

The International Fuel Tax Agreement was created as a more efficient method for collecting and disbursing fuel use taxes among the states. Drivers are required to keep records of all fuel purchases and mileage accrued in each state or jurisdiction on their route.  This information is to be reported to the IFTA via your base jurisdiction on a quarterly basis. North Dakota is your base jurisdiction if you meet the following requirements:

  • Your business is based in North Dakota and all operational controls and records are maintained in and can be made available to the state.
  • You operate a qualified motor vehicle in North Dakota and at least one other member jurisdiction.

A qualified motor vehicle is defined by the IFTA as one that is used, designed or maintained for transporting persons or property.  Also, the vehicle must have two axles with a GVW exceeding 26,000 pounds, have three or more axles, regardless of weight, or be used in combination when the combined weight exceeds 26,000 pounds.  There are some exceptions to these IFTA rules which can be found here.

As an IFTA licensee, you’ll need to file quarterly fuel use tax reports by the following dates:



Quarterly IFTA Due Dates

Q1 January – March April 30
Q2 April – June July 31
Q3 July – September October 31
Q4 October – December January 31



IFTA North Dakota Related Links and Forms

Call: (701) 328-2725

North Dakota IFTA Tax Forms and Links


Keep in mind that tax delinquency can result in a penalty of 10% of the total tax liability or $50, whichever is greater.  Late filing or payment can also interfere with renewing your license.


Renewing Your North Dakota IFTA License


Your North Dakota IFTA license is valid for one year, expiring on December 31st.  You should submit your IFTA renewal application by November 30th to avoid any delays in receiving your IFTA sticker and permit.  

Each vehicle in your fleet should carry a copy of the license and display the current year decals on each side of the cab’s exterior. Failure to comply with these IFTA sticker requirements may result in citations or court fines.

After reviewing all the IFTA rules and regulations, you realize there is more to trucking than being a skilled driver.  If you are dreading the hours of detailed and confusing paperwork involved in managing your business, there is help available.  Hundreds of truckers are reaping the benefits of our TruckingOffice software.


How TruckingOffice Can Help


If you’re like most drivers, you want to save time, meet deadlines, and increase your bottom line.  With our program, you’ll be able to organize all aspects of your business in one place and never need to worry about losing valuable information.  Our software uses the latest technology to manage your invoices, dispatches, fuel use, vehicle maintenance, IFTA tax reports, and much more.  Your miles are calculated automatically using PC*Miler. Contact us today to learn more. Start filing your IFTA the easy way today!




Get Your FREE Copy of “The Trucker’s Guide to IFTA” eBook!
Alabama IFTA Information
Arizona IFTA Information
Arkansas IFTA Information
California IFTA Information
Colorado IFTA Information
Connecticut IFTA Information
Delaware IFTA Information
Florida IFTA Information
Georgia IFTA Information
Idaho IFTA Information
Illinois IFTA Information
Indiana IFTA Information
Iowa IFTA Informatioon
Kansas IFTA Information
Kentucky IFTA Information
Louisiana IFTA Information
Maine IFTA Information
Maryland IFTA Information
Massachusetts IFTA Form
Michigan IFTA Information
Minnesota IFTA Information
Mississippi IFTA Information
Missouri IFTA Information
Montana IFTA Information
Nebraska IFTA Information
Nevada IFTA Information
New Hampshire IFTA Forms
New Jersey IFTA Information
New Mexico IFTA Information
New York IFTA Information
North Carolina IFTA Information
North Dakota IFTA Information
Ohio IFTA Information
Oklahoma IFTA Information
Oregon IFTA Information
Pennsylvania IFTA Information
Rhode Island IFTA Information
South Carolina IFTA Information
South Dakota IFTA Information
Tennessee IFTA Information
Texas IFTA Information
Utah IFTA Information
Vermont IFTA Information
Virginia IFTA Information
Washington IFTA Information
West Virginia IFTA Information
Wisconsin IFTA Information
Wyoming IFTA Information
Alberta IFTA Information
British Columbia IFTA Information
Manitoba IFTA Information
New Brunswick IFTA Information
Newfoundland and Labrador
Nova Scotia
Ontario IFTA Information
Prince Edward Island IFTA Information
Québec IFTA Information
Saskatchewan IFTA Information